CAPE TOWN, SOUTH AFRICA - NOVEMBER 10: Thabo Nodada of Cape Town City celebrate scoring a goal during the DStv Premiership match between Cape Town City FC and Royal AM at DHL Stadium on November 10, 2023 in Cape Town, South Africa. (Photo by Ashley Vlotman/Gallo Images)

Cape Town City made it historic five successive wins

13 November 2023 – Cape Town City made it five successive wins in the DStv Premiership for the first time in the club’s history when they claimed a 2-0 win over Royal AM at the DHL Stadium on Friday night.

The convincing victory elevated the Citizens to the third spot on the league standings – two points behind leaders, Mamelodi Sundowns. City will now take on Golden Arrows on November 26.

Royal, on the other hand, remained 14th in the standings after recording their sixth defeat of the season in the league and they will now lock horns with Cape Town Spurs on November 25.

The Citizens created the better chances from the first minute and they broke the deadlock a minute after the half-hour mark after some brilliant work by eventual Man of the Match Keanu Cupido.

The 25-year-old defender’s impressive mazy run in the opposition’s box was finished off by Jaedin Rhodes who handed City the lead and the home side was 1-0 up during the halftime break.

Hugo Nyame was the busier of the two goalkeepers after the restart as Thwihli Thwahla struggled to contain the hosts and Joaquim Paciência was denied by the former in the 51st minute.

Khanyisa Mayo then set up the lively Darwin Gonzalez in the 73rd minute and the Venezuelan attacker was also denied by Nyame as Citizens pushed for their second goal of the game.

City’s 2-0 victory over Royal was sealed by Thabo Nodada as the experienced midfielder netted with a header in the last minute of the encounter with Gonzalez providing the assist.

City (1) 2 (Rhodes 31′, Nodada 90′)

Royal (0) 0

City: Keet, Van Heerden, Gordinho, Cupido, Slatsha (Nyama 82′), Ambina, Goedeman (Nodada 46′), Rhodes (Mkhize 82′), Kutumela (Daniels 89′), Paciência (Gonzalez 62′), Mayo.

Royal: Nyame, Mahlasela, Manganyi, Mogaila, Masuku (Gamildien 78), Matlaba, Dlamini Magaqa 9′), Kobedi (Sithole 60′), Mabuza, George (Macuphu 60′), Thikazi (Sera 60′).

Source: Text and Picture: PSL

Copyright ©2011 northCloud. All Rights Reserved.